Saturday, 24 January 2015

The Inquisitors Mark by Dianne K Salerni Review!


22942471Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

Title : The Inquisitors Mark
Author : Dianne K Salerni
Pages : 352
Published : January 27th 2015
Publisher : HarperCollins
Source : Edelweiss
Purchase : Amazon / iTunes

After the all-out Eighth Day war in Mexico, Jax, Riley, and Evangeline have gone into hiding. There are still rogue Transitioners and evil Kin lords who want to use Riley, a descendant of King Arthur, and Evangeline, a powerful wizard with bloodlines to Merlin, to get control over the Eighth Day. 

So when Finn Ambrose, a mysterious stranger, contacts Jax claiming to be his uncle, Jax’s defenses go up—especially when Finn tells Jax that he’s holding Jax’s best friend, Billy, hostage. To rescue Billy and keep Riley and Evangeline out of the fray, Jax sneaks off to New York City on his own. But once there, he discovers a surprising truth: Finn is his uncle and Jax is closely related to the Dulacs—a notoriously corrupt and dangerous Transitioner clan who have been dying to get their hands on Riley and Evangeline. And family or not, these people will stop at nothing to get what they want.

With suspense, action, and intrigue lurking around every corner, this fast-paced fantasy series will be a welcome addition for fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter.


My Thoughts : 

I loved Book 1 of this (check my review HERE) and couldn't wait to read more about Jax and the gang. After the ending of book 1 Jax and Evangeline are gone into hiding but they know they can't stay hiding because they have to try to find Evangelines sister. Riley decides to try and handcuff himself to Evangeline and see will she stay in the normal week, but it doesn't happen and Riley ends up stuck in the Eight day with Evangeline. 

During that time Jax gets a call from his friend Billy to say that he was kidnapped by Jaxs Uncle. Jax doesn't know anything about an Uncle so is suitably nervous. Jax knows that he can't wait for Riley to come back, so he sets off to rescue his best friend! Once there he finds out some secrets and surprising truths. Can he rescue Billy and find out where Evangelines sister is before it's too late?


This was just as good, if not better, than book 1. There was so much more action, adventure and intrigue that it was such a rollercoaster. 

Character wise, Jax was just as awesome as he was in book 1. He is so brave and true and it really comes across in The Inquisitors Mark. I felt for him when he learned about his father. No matter what was happening to him though, he always thought of his friends first. Riley isn't as prominent in this edition but he is as cool as ever. Billy was such a breath of fresh air! He is such a lovable character and I hope we see more of him in the next one. There is also a host of new characters introduced, with Dorian being my favourite. Despite being a Dulac, he was so nice and kind. I hope we see more of him too. 

Plot wise, it was really fast paced and engaging. There are some secrets revealed. Jax finds out some things about his dad and Evangeline finds out things about her sister. While this answers some questions from book 1 we are left with even more after the ending of this!! 

Overall, The Inquisitors Mark was an action packed and intense ride. The action and adventure start pretty much straight away and then we are whisked away on quite an intriguing and suspenseful read. Billy adds a welcome comic relief and is sure to be a favourite for everyone. There are magical creatures thrown into the mix this time and a lot more villains. With the ending we are left hanging but it just makes me extra eager to read book 3. Dianne K Salerni has created a fantastical realm and one I love diving into. Her writing brings the story to life and makes the reader eager to read more. I'd highly recommend this series to everyone. 


No comments:

Post a Comment

 
Imagination Designs
Images from the Meadow of Dreams kit by Irene Alexeeva