Thursday, 23 January 2014

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan Review!

13645645


Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide   Goodreads_icon_32x32

Title : Uninvited
Author : Sophie Jordan
Pages : 384
Source : Edelweiss
Expected publication : January 28th 2014  
Publisher : HarperTeen

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.


My Thoughts : 

With crime and violence rife everywhere scientists have determined that there is a certain gene that every violent person has. Its called the Homicidal Tendency Syndrome or HTS. Something has to be done to curb this in society so they have mandatory blood tests for eveyone to see who has the gene. 

Davy has it all. She is popular, talented and is dating Zac, the hottest boy in school. She attends a prestigious school and has her future is mapped out. That is until she under goes the blood test and is found to be a carrier. From that moment on her life is turned upside down.

Firstly I have to say that the cover is fabulous!! I love how her hair is entwined like DNA. Secondly, I LOVED this book!!! I loved everything about it.  Sophie Jordan has created a world that is dark, dangerous, desolate and horrible but is also so unique and one that you wish will never happen.

When Davy is told she is a carrier, she goes from having everything to being the lowest of the low in society. She is Uninvited from her school, her parents are nervous around her, all her "friends" abandon her and even her boyfriend Zac treats her differently. She is thrown into a life she knows nothing about. She is sent to a new school but is put with the rest of the carriers in The Cage. She has to arrive at the school after the rest of the school and isn't allowed to interact with "normal" students. Here is where she meets Sean. 

I liked Davy. At first she is a typical rich child with everything, but when her world collapses she is hit hard. Her character grew throughout the book from being a spoilt girl to a girl that has to do what it takes to survive. When her so called boyfriend treats her so bad I wanted to smack him. He went from being awesome to a jerk in the matter of a few pages. Sean on the other hand is awesome and I adored his character. He has the whole tough exterior but is so kind and nice underneath. 

I loved how Davy and Seans relationship grew. It definitely wasn't insta love!!  I loved how he stuck by her no matter. I felt for both of them during the book and was rooting for them. Sean has known he was a carrier since he was 8 years old and knows that Davy will have to toughen up to survive. He tries his best to ready her for this life but its something she will have to live to understand

Sophie Jordan wrote a book that had me thinking and crying and everything in between. It made me think about humans and how we handle people who are "different". Just because society labels people a certain way, everyone treated them differently. They have the so called Kill Gene and whilst some are that way inclined, everyone with the gene were labeled killers. I hated the way they were treated but its something that happens even in this day and age. Its kind of like they are guilty until proven guilty.

So ya, I loved this book. Its been a while since I read a book that made me feel so many different emotions. Its been a few days since I finished it and I still think of it. Its a book that will grip you, have your heart pounding, leave you breathless, make you cry, make you think, have you rooting for the underdogs and will shock you but its a book you wont easily forget. I would HIGHLY recommend it. 




10 comments:

  1. What an amazing review, Natalie!!! I am dying to read this book myself. The whole premise is just so intriguing. Plus, it's dark and that's always something that draws me in when it comes to books. I love your review, Nat, and cannot wait for the chance to read it myself someday! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you so much Ina!! I absolutely LOVED this book and could gush about it all day. Its that good!

      Delete
  2. Whoa, I haven't noticed about the DNA hair until you mentioned it :O how cool!
    I haven't read much about this but based on your review I definitely want to read it now. It sounds pretty awesome. I love that it made you feel different emotions, that is always nice in a book.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Isnt it just awesome!! Ana this book was so so good!!! I absolutely loved it and cant recommend it enough :)

      Delete
  3. I hadn't noticed the DNA in her hair, but now I have, that makes this book seem EVEN MORE COOL.

    Great review - you've made me even more excited to read it! And I'm so glad that the romantic interest isn't an instalove! Hate those things (most of the time).
    Can't wait to see what I think of it :)

    Dani xx
    Pen to Paper

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Its easy overlook but I love it, its subtle!! I loved loved loved this book. I'm not a fan of insta love and I'm glad this book wasn't like that as well. Ill look out for your review of it when you get it!!

      Delete
  4. this book has been on my wishlist for ages and i just love sophie jordan's writing style. amazing review natalie now i really want it :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I loved it and cant recommend it enough!!! I love her YA books and must check out her older books as well. She is an amazing writer.

      Delete
  5. I have never read a book by Sophie Jordan but I think this would be a great book to start reading her series!! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love her YA books but haven't read her adult ones yet! You definitely should try her though, she is an amazing author!!!

      Delete

 
Imagination Designs
Images from the Meadow of Dreams kit by Irene Alexeeva